Double Win Weekend for Panoz Racing in Portland

Continued Growth for Trans Am in 2019
July 18, 2019
TeamTGM Defends Lime Rock Title with Victory
July 20, 2019
Show all

Double Win Weekend for Panoz Racing in Portland

AERO TM Sustainable Paint Technology teams gear up for more racing action after summer break


Portland, Ore. (18 July 2019) – Team Panoz Racing swept the Rose Festival race weekend at Portland International Raceway after scoring both Am victories in the SRO Blancpain America Sprint-X championship. Racing with the AERO -painted livery that celebrates both the Stars and Stripes as well as Panoz Racing’s rich racing tradition, the two-driver line up of Preston Calvert and Mathew Keeganin the No. 51 Panoz Avezzano GT both scored wins on the weekend.

The double-win weekend means that the duo now lead the Sprint Driver Championship, Team Championship, and are tied with McLaren for the Manufacturers Championship lead. The Blancpain-sponsored series will return to race action at the end of August when the series heads to Watkins Glen International.

Racing action Reaches the Halfway Point of the 2019 season as NTT IndyCar Series set to go round and round in Iowa

Heavily represented in NTT IndyCar series action, AEROTM Sustainable Paint Technology teams are using the AERO advantage to drive up the championship ladder as the season hits the midway point. The IndyCar series has once again demonstrated ludicrous levels of competition. The Toronto event being no different, as just one second split the first 17 positions on the grid.  Coming off of a big weekend in Toronto, AERO IndyCar teams now prepare for a completely different kind of challenge as they head to the 0.8765-mile tri-oval at Iowa Speedway.

AERO squad AJ Foyt Racing drivers Tony Kanaan and Matheus Leist are on the hunt for a breakout weekend, while Rahal Letterman Lanigan (RLL) drivers Graham Rahal and Takuma Sato target upward mobility in the championship after a promising first half of the IndyCar season.

IMSA WeatherTech and Michelin Pilot Challenge at Lime Rock Park 

It’s officially the midway point in the IMSA WeatherTech and IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge seasons and teams are fully focused on the championship fight. The next round of competition will feature an all-GT weekend at Lime Rock Park (July 19-20). The thundering and AERO–painted Corvette Racing machine of Antonio Garcia and Jan Magnussen currently sit third in the GTLM championship with fellow AERO–equipped BMW M8 of ConnorDe Phillippi  just behind in fourth for BMW Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing (RLL) having claimed the MOTUL pole award last time out.

Scuderia Corsa’s Ferrari 488 GT3 of Cooper MacNiel and Tony Vilander along with Compass Racing’s custom-orange hued McLaren of Paul Holton and Matt Plumb will represent AEROTM film-based paint in the GT-Daytona category this weekend in Connecticut.

Saturday will also mark round six of the IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge, with two powerhouse teams in Compass Racing and CarBahn Motorsports competing at Lime Rock Park with AERO-painted McLarens and Audi R8s, respectively. The CarBahn duo of Tyler McQuarrie and Jeff Westphal have serious championship aspirations, holding second in the points just one marker back from the lead.

European Le Mans Series+ Michelin Le Mans Cup

After a post-Le Mans break, the European Le Mans Series (ELMS) is back in action in Barcelona this weekend. Long time AERO partners United Autosports will embark on its 300th race this weekend. Joining the ELMS race weekend in Barcelona will be the Michelin Le Mans Cup with several featured AERO teams eyeing the Barcelona podium.

NTT IndyCar AERO Teams:

No. 14 AJ Foyt Racing – Tony Kanaan
No. 4 AJ Foyt Racing – Matheus Leist

No. 15 Rahal Letterman Lanigan (RLL) – Graham Rahal
No. 14 Rahal Letterman Lanigan (RLL) – Takuma Sato

IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship AERO Teams:

No. 25 BMW Team RLL – Connor DePhillipe / Tom Blomqvist
No. 24 BMW Team RLL – Jesse Krohn / John Edwards

No. 63 Scuderia Corsa Ferrari 488 GT3- Cooper MacNiel / Toni Vilander
No. 76 Compass Racing –McLaren GT3  Paul Holton / Matt Plumb

The IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge AERO Teams:

No. 39 Carbahn Motorsports  Audi R8- Tyler McQuarrie / Jeff Westphal

No. 75 Compass Racing – McLaren GT4 Paul Rees / Kuno Wittmer

European Le Mans Series AERO Teams:

No. 32 United Autosports LMP2 – Ryan Cullen / Alex Brundle / Will Owen
No. 22 United Autosports LMP2 – Phil Hanson / Filipe Albuquerque
No. 2 United Autosports LMP3 – Wayne Boyd / Garrett Grist
No. 3 United Autosports LMP3 – Michael Guasch / Christian England

No. 37 Cool Racing LMP2 – Nicolas Lapierre / Antonin Borga / Alexandre Coigny

No. 7 Nielsen Racing LMP3 – Anthony Wells / Colin Noble
No. 8 Nielsen Racing LMP3 – James Littlejohn / Nicolas Adcock

Michelin Le Mans Cup AERO Teams:

No. 22 United Autosports LMP3 – Jim McGuire / Matt Bell
No. 23 United Autosports LMP3 – Rob Hodes / Garrett Grist
No. 24 United Autosports LMP3 – Michael Guasch / Wayne Boyd

No. 74 Cool Racing LMP3 – Maurice Smith / Victor Blugeon
No. 4 Cool Racing LMP3 – John Schauerman / Nico Rondet
No. 96 Cool Racing LMP3 – Philippe Cimadomo / Romain Carton

No. 2 Nielsen Racing LMP3 – Anthony Wells / Colin Noble