Trans Am Renews Long Tradition at Sonoma Raceway

Negri Returns to Le Mans
June 13, 2019
Ben’s Blog: Clean Weekend for Invisible Glass Prototype
June 21, 2019
Show all

Trans Am Renews Long Tradition at Sonoma Raceway

Trans Am Championship West presented by Pirelli returns to action at Sonoma Raceway this weekend 


Sonoma, Calif (14 June 2019)  This weekend’s Trans Am Championship West presented by Pirelli event at Sonoma Raceway is the renewal of a long tradition of competition at the fabled California circuit.  Many of the legends of American sports car racing have been Trans Am winners at the circuit located in the heart of California wine country.

Over the years, Sonoma Raceway has hosted the national Trans Am Championship 24 times from 1969 through 2004. The circuit hosted both spring and fall races five times from 1982 through 1986. It was the site of the 1978 season opener, in addition to serving as the season finale in 1981 and 1982.

Trans Am’s first visit to what was then known as Sears Point International Speedway came in 1969. Mark Donohue won his fifth of six races to boost Chevrolet to its second consecutive manufacturer championship. In addition, Donohue captured the unofficial driver championship for the second straight year, although that title was not officially instated until the 1971 season.

Donohue did not have the fastest car that day, but the Penske Racing team excelled in the pits. Parnelli Jones, driving the Bud Boore Ford Mustang, qualified two seconds faster than Donohue’s Roger Penske-fielded Sunoco Camaro.  Donohue needed to make three pit stops, to only two for Jones. However, the overall time on pit road for the Penske Camaro was 31 seconds faster than Jones’ two stops. Donohue led only the final 11 of the 80 laps, beating Jones to the checkered flag by 2.17 seconds.

Darin Brassfield was the most successful Trans Am racer at Sonoma, winning four consecutive years from 1989 through 1992. His first Sears Point victory came after a thrilling race-long duel with Dorsey Schroeder.

Brassfield was at the wheel of a privately entered Corvette, and he held off Schroeder – a current Trans Am official – by 0.17 seconds, the closest finish in event history. Brassfield won the following two years in a Rocketsports Oldsmobile Cutlass, and made it four in a row in 1992 driving a Camaro owned by George Robinson.

Tom Gloy also was a four-time winning entrant. He drove his own Ford Mustang to victory in 1981 and 1982, and fielded the winning Mustang for Schroeder in 1995, and a Qvale Mangusta for Brian Simo in 2001.

Greg Pickett was a three-time Sonoma winner, driving his own Corvette in 1978 and Roush Mercury Capris in both 1984 events. In addition to his Trans Am Championship victories, he also won the 2018 Trans Am West Championship presented by Pirelli at the circuit.

Willy T. Ribbs also pulled off the hat trick, winning in fall 1983 in a DeAtley Camaro; sprint 1985 in a Roush Capri; and 1988 in a Les Lindley Camaro.

Two-time winners at Sonoma included Elliott Forbes-Robinson (U2 driving a Porsche 911 in 1969 and fall 1985 in a Buick); Wally Dallenbach Jr., who swept the 1986 races in Protofab Camaros; and Scott Pruett (1987 in a Roush Mercury MerkurXR4Ti and 2003 in a Rocketsports Jaguar XKR).

The most recent visit for the national Trans Am was in 2004, won by Boris Said in a Ford Mustang.