Meyer Shank Racing Qualifies Sixth at Daytona

Lance Willsey Brings COVID Awareness to Daytona
January 22, 2021
Meyer Shank Racing Will Start Fourth for Rolex 24
January 24, 2021
Show all

Meyer Shank Racing Qualifies Sixth at Daytona

Roar Before the 24, IMSA, Daytona, January 2021(Photo by Brian Cleary/

Daytona Beach, Fla. (23 January 2021) – The No. 60 Meyer Shank Racing (MSR) SiriusXM / AutoNation Acura ARX-05 will start fifth for Sunday’s 100-minute Motul Pole Award 100 at Daytona (2:05pm ET, TRACKPASS) which will determine the Motul Pole winner and grid positions for next weekend’s Rolex 24 At Daytona (January 30, 3:30pm ET, NBC).
For the first time ever, the Roar Before the 24 three day test was staged just one weekend prior to the Rolex 24, leaving teams with little room for error in preparation for the annual twice around the clock event.
MSR made its official on track debut with the No. 60 SiriusXM / AutoNation Acura ARX-05 DPi with drivers Dane Cameron, Olivier Pla, Juan Pablo Montoya and AJ Allmendinger.


MSR returned to the Prototype ranks after four years competing in the GT-Daytona category and collecting back-to-back championships. The 2012 Rolex 24 champions are once again ready to fight for the overall victory in 2021.


New to MSR, Cameron brings three years of Acura ARX-05 development expertise to the team which also included his run to the 2019 IMSA Prototype championship. Cameron was slated to qualify the No. 60 Acura on Saturday which saw him post the sixth quickest lap to place him on the third row for Sunday’s 100-minute race.


“Qualifying went pretty well for us, I think we were just a bit off with the tire pressures,” said Cameron. “The guys worked hard all weekend to give us a strong car. The Acura has good pace and there’s just some fine tuning that we need to do to get the car ready for tomorrow. The race will be a good chance for the guys to practice some hot stops and really get ready for the big race next week.”


Cameron and Pla will pair to take on Sunday’s Motul Pole Award 100 which will be broadcast on TRACKPASS starting at 2:05pm ET. The race will also be tape delayed on NBCSN starting at 4:30pm ET.